Sweat Glands

Siveat glands are classified on the bases of their structure and the nature of their secretion. Two types of sweat glands are recognized:

• Eccrine sweat glands, which are distributed over the entire body surface except for the lips and part of the external genitalia.

• Apocrine siveat glands, which are limited to the axilla, areola and nipple of the mammary gland, skin around the anus, and the external genitalia. The ceruminous glands of the external acoustic meatus canal and the apocrine glands of eyelashes (glands of Moll) are also apocrine-type glands.

Eccrine Siveat Glands

Eccrine sweat glands are simple coiled glands that regulate body temperature

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment