The fallopian tubes are paired structures which extend from the uterine cornu to the medial pole of the ovary. They are generally 8-12 cm in length. There are four segments to the fallopian tube, which from medial to lateral are the intramural segment, the isthmus, the ampulla and the infundibulum (Figure 22.1). The lateral aspect of the infundibulum is fimbriated and opens into the pelvic cavity. Microscopically, the fallopian tube consists of mucosa, submucosa, muscularis and serosa which is covered by a single layer of mesothelial cells.

0 0

Post a comment