Three Segments and One Caudate Area

The blood supply of the liver is derived from the three secondary branches of the Glissonean pedicle, and each secondary branch feeds one segment. Consequently, the liver can be separated into three segments: right, middle, and left. There is one additional area, called the caudate area, which is nourished directly from the primary branch. The three segments are almost the same size, each accounting for about 30% of the total liver volume, with the remaining 10% occupied by the caudate area.

Middle segment

Middle segment

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment