Messenger RNA molecules contain three main regions: a 5' untranslated region, a protein-coding region, and a 3' untranslated region. The 5' and 3' untranslated regions do not code for the amino acids of a protein.

mRNA 5'I

Start codon

Stop codon

5' untranslated region

Protein-coding region

3' untranslated region

I 14.5 Three primary regions of mature mRNA are the 5' untranslated region, the protein-coding region, and the 3' untranslated region.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment